No announcement yet.

How do Indonesians deal with HUMIDITY?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How do Indonesians deal with HUMIDITY?

I realize that Indonesia has a very humid weather
    I'm majoring in Marketing and my final project for this semester is to decide on a product to sell in the Indonesian market. It needs to be something innovative and something that can pin-point the NEEDS of the Indonesians

I decided that a portable humidity remover (dehumidifier) would be a good choice but i've never lived in Indonesia, so i don't have enough information. Are humidity removers widely available in the Indonesian market? Are they easily accessible in local supermarkets?

please help me out
    this final project is crucial to my final grade...!

HELP!

Isn't a dehumidifier just a big heater? Sure, it takes out the moisture, but it creates so much heat! A portable aircon would be a lot better. I've seen ones that you wear on your neck.

Comment

High humidity makes it harder for your sweat to evaporate, so it's harder for your body to shed heat. If you have air conditioning at your place, then a dehumidifier is not very useful because you're not sweating. If you don't have AC, then your place must have good ventilation, which makes it very hard to dehumidify. In short: a dehumidifier is of limited use in Indonesia. Perhaps it's useful for laboratories, hospitals, or any other place than requires certain level of humidity, but I don't see it marketed to the average guy on the street.

Comment

I'm gonna give you a freebie, Helen. Make a water-cooled riding jacket. You need to research the number of motorcycle riders in Indonesia (huge), then show riders' strong habit of wearing riding jacket (plenty of pictures on the internet) and the annual temperature chart. Unlike a dehumidifier this product doesn't currently exist, so it qualifies as innovative.

Comment