Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What can I import from Indonesia to the US?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What can I import from Indonesia to the US?

I am a small business owner based in the US. I'm visiting Indonesia soon and would like to find new products that I can import from Indonesia to the US and sell online. I am looking at relatively small/lightweight items, such as local masks, souvenirs and clothes, but open to other ideas as well.

-What products should I consider for importing and selling online?

-What is the best way to get in touch with local manufacturers and wholesalers? I have already posted on the job forum here to find a local sourcing agent, but maybe there are better ways to do it? I'm going to Jakarta, can also visit other places, such as Bandung, Jokyakarta and Bali.

-Any other advice - things to watch out for, etc? I've been to Indonesia before, but I don't speak Indonesian and know very little about the culture and business practices.

-Finally, if anybody is in the same business, let me know here or by PM. Perhaps we can meet and discuss business opportunities. I'll be in Jakarta from Feb 8.
    Last edited by Kolyanych; 31-01-16, 02:13.

I think you're a bit late. With a bit I would guess 20 years.

The export that (could) have been interesting, teak wood furniture, batik (objects) and silver, are already overflooding the western markets. And currently, Indonesian products can not really compete with countries as Vietnam, India and China anymore.
    [FONT=arial black]
    [/FONT]

Comment

I think sarongs will always sell well, easy to make, cheap & not complicated for import/export. Find someone who will make a unique design for your company perhaps?
      The oversize sarong (I forget the name of it) that is traditionally used by the women here to carry the baby/child is a potentially good seller, they are so versatile, unusual & practical that there really should be a good market for them.