is golf a hobby?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• is golf a hobby?

I've been living in Jakarta for 13 years. To be honest, this city is boring. There is rarely a concert (pop, jazz, etc). Nor there is a professional team sport. Basketball or soccer.

So when I went to Senayan Istora, I was jogging and I saw a field where people hitting balls. It was about 10 years ago. Then I found out, they are hitting golf balls. It got my interest because the ball flew so far like 200 meters or more.

I started looking for golf clubs and found a golf coach at Senayan driving range. To be honest, he did not do a good job because he kept offering to sell some old used golf clubs (which I did not bother to buy). Then I started learning from some golfers, they taught me how to swing a golf club.

Until now, I have been playing for 10 years...... I also found a good store on tokopedia, the link is tokopedia.com/thegolfoutlet88, to buy some new clubs. Also get fitted at accuratefitting.com . All the clubs are ready and I started playing golf seriously for a year now to lower my handicap......

After my 10 years of playing golf, my impressions:
    1. is golf a hobby or a sport? it's both!!! the sport thing is about 40%, I mean you have to have a flexible body to swing a golf club. That's the sport aspect of the game. The hobby part? You keep learning how to swing better and better and better....... Rather than busy thinking how uncomfortable to live in Jakarta with all the traffic jams and the mass rally recently, it got you focus on something else. That's why I call it a hobby.