Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Grad Cert or Grad Diploma?

Hi all,

I have recently graduated with a teaching degree and in my second year of teaching. My degree is a TESOL/Indonesian language degree. I am aware that in Indonesia I am not able to teach Indonesian as those jobs will go to locals, however I am looking at the best options moving forward so in at least 3yrs (once I have completed 5yrs of teaching here) I can start looking for jobs in Indonesia. As my only area of teaching would be EAL, I am highly considering further study in other areas to boost my employability.

Is anyone aware whether a Graduate Certificate is suffice of does it need to be a Graduate Diploma for any additional study?

Also, those living in Indonesia in the education field, what seems to be the area's that schools are crying out for teachers in? History, Geography, Business??

Any on the ground advice is appreciated.

Cheers,
    Scott.

Originally posted by scotty13 View Post
    ... Is anyone aware whether a Graduate Certificate is suffice or does it need to be a Graduate Diploma for any additional study? ...

Any on the ground advice is appreciated .

I am not a teacher but from what I have read here in the Forum , in Indonesia you will first need a specific College/University diploma (see the rule and some exemplos below) .

PerMen no.10 year 2018 (not an official translation)
    Article 5
    A foreign worker must :
    a. have education diploma that is related to the qualifications required for the work position ;
    b. have a competency certificate or have work experience of at least 5 years related to the qualifications required for the work position ;
    c. transfer his/her expertise to a designated Indonesian worker;
    d. have an Indonesian Tax Registration Number if to work for more than 6 months; and
    e. have Work Visa/e-ITAS issued by the Indonesian Immigration Department .