Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

5 year requirement for teachers, confused!

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 5 year requirement for teachers, confused!

Hi Everyone,

I'm new here and I'm thinking about looking for work in Indonesia for the upcoming academic year. I'm currently working in Bangkok and will finish in my current position at the start of April 2018. I have been teaching ESL in some form or another for 8 years and have previously worked in Jakarta and Taipei. I also hold a CELTA and I've just finished an MA in TESOL. I should say that I worked in ESL for 3 years in language centres and I'm currently half way through my 5th year in a K12 school teaching EAL ("English as an Additional Language) in a private catholic school.

Now, my question is how exactly is the 5 years experience rule applied? I've trawled posts in this' forum and on other websites like Dave's ESL and come up a bit stumped. Some posters suggest that the MA along with five years experience will be enough and other sources say that the five year requirement is supposed to have been accrued after completion of the MA.

I've seen job postings by language centres, e.g. by Wall St here:
    http://www.tefl.com/job-seeker/jobpa...826&countryId=
    and they just say 'five years experience to be proved by references' but it's not entirely clear what they mean in terms of the specificity of the experience. Does the experience need to be specific to the type of school that you are applying for? (e.g. 5 years language school experience to work at Wall Street/5 years in a primary school to work in a primary school). I appreciate that this is a bit of a random question. I've been sending a prospective CV off to different schools, and they seem to need to check with their HR to see if my qualifications and experience meet the requirements.

Originally posted by lrbrugby View Post