Clueless about salary! Help please!

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Clueless about salary! Help please!

I am looking into jobs in Indonesia--teaching English, teaching in an International School, or both. I have a Bachelors in Education, teaching certificate, and TEFL certificate.
    Currently I make about 42000 (which includes health insurance). What do I need to make in Indonesia to have the same standard of living? I have had interest from a few schools in Jakarta, if that makes a difference.

When you say teaching English if you mean ESL then your salary won't come close at a language school. You'll be better off at an international school teaching English language and literature.

You also don't say where you're living or what currency you are quoting in as cost of living country to country will make a difference.

If it's in American dollars most good local 'international' schools offer around $40,000 upwards plus housing, health insurance and flights etc. The true international schools like BIS and JIS offer higher starting salaries and better benefits. Although you'll need more experience to get into either of those.
    The challenge is to be yourself in a world that is trying to make you like everyone else.

Comment

42k dollars? Pounds? Yen? Assuming it was dollars for the same standard of living (which was your question), $24k per annum I should think, living in Jakarta. You could maybe drop that by 25% if you were willing to work in another city.

Comment

Originally posted by Bandong View Post
        42k dollars? Pounds? Yen? Assuming it was dollars for the same standard of living (which was your question), $24k per annum I should think, living in Jakarta. You could maybe drop that by 25% if you were willing to work in another city.
        Depending to what is the meaning of same standard of living it can range from half to double.