Ahok jailed - Indonesia, quo vadis?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ahok jailed - Indonesia, quo vadis?

I've lived in Indonesia for ten years and have very seriously considered applying for citizenship. I just love the place and the people. Even though I've been working in other countries for the past three years, I always seem to think about going back 'one day'. I still think of it as my family's home. However, reading stuff like this makes me feel very anxious, and quite relieved I haven't taken the plunge.
    http://www.reuters.com/article/us-in...-idUSKBN1842GE
    Take my advice, I don't need it.

What a sad joke of a country and weak government , I wonder what justice we would get in the courts ? ah sorry I forgot its not a democracy as we know it .

Sorry for Ahok.

Comment

Hi Niko/Scouser, It is a very debatable topic as we all have our own views which we are certain is the right and unprejudiced view including me. Sorry to say but what I understand, If a person holds a senior government position like governor and in uniform, he needs to abide with certain code and ethics and should not be biased in his/her public talks/forum related to culture, race, religion, color, etc; because such opinions may offence the community; these comments are his/her personal views and should be done in private.

Impact of the comments made is that after that day till today the community has been divided, which is very clear and can be easily seen. The damage is already done. Rallies, Pro & Against, supporters, etc. are out there. We may call it is due to Jakarta election or politically misused just to change the focus, but the point is why a governor on his official trip needs to make a comment on a religion stating details about it, that too about a religion to which he does not belongs too.