Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Books for beginners.

Hey everyone!

I am a new member here but reading already since a decent time. I am not a native speaker so please excuse my English "skills".
    Since I am not an expat, just someone who likes to travel to Indonesia I don´t have the advantage to study the language in daily life.
    I started to study with online courses and a book and it seems to work out BUT they usually stop at the TOEFL level of B1. So I was wondering if there are books in Indonesian language made for foreign people, with an easy language and and a decent amount of vocuabulary to improve my skills?
    I remember I had this kind of books when I was a middle school student (for studying English) but I can´t find this kind of books for Indonesian language here in Germany. Luckily I am in Indonesia soon again so I could get them there if they exist.
    Anyone any clue or idea?

Greetings!

Hi Jonzen!
    welcome back soon.
    If I can suggest you, if you want to study Indonesian, especially for communicating, I guess TOEFL is not the best one. TOEFL is for the people who want to study English. Try to look for Indonesian conversation book for foreigner, you may google it and you'll find a bunch of that.

Good luck!

Comment

I know it is not what you are looking for, but I have never seen anything fitting your request. I would suggest manga as general reading material. My wife gave me a series of manga books about a rabbit, Sentaro, as a gift. The subject matter of these Sentaro books is more or less the same throughout, so you have lots of repetition. Also, manga has pics, which help you to "figure out" what the words mean without resorting to a dictionary. When I finish with Sentaro, I'll probably find another "slice of life" type manga with a different subject matter.

Comment

Hey thank you for they replies.