Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need guidance for marrying in Indonesia

Hi all, thanks for clicking

First off, an introduction. I'm a 24-year-old Pakistani living in Islamabad and my fiancee is of the same age and is living in Aceh, Indonesia. I also happen to be a freelance writer by profession without a college degree. We're hoping to get married as soon as we're able.

I was hoping for guidance and any information that you guys could give me. The posts about Pakistanis marrying Indonesians on this forum are quite outdated and I haven't been able to find any authentic material online.

From what my girlfriend and I have found out, we're getting increasingly stressed out because there appears to be an endless maze of requirements that we must fulfill. Is there anyone that might have a complete list of what we need?

It is true that my girlfriend and I both need $2000 each in our bank accounts for this to work? Also, is my girlfriend expected to go to Jakarta to sponsor me? I heard that it's really difficult and one needs to give 3 interviews to sponsor anyone.

I haven't been able to find any specific visas for marriage. Here, in my country, a foreigner can even get married on a visit visa, but that doesn't seem to be the case in Indonesia. Neither I nor my girlfriend is exactly rich or resourceful. I can expect some degree of funding from my parents, I suppose.

I know which documents are expected of me (like copies of my passport, an NOC, etc.). However, you may have realized that my thoughts are all over the place ... that's because I don't really know what I missing. If someone could lay down the entire process for me, that'd be amazing. Any additional advice or information would be highly appreciated too. Like the chances that the visa will be rejected and what I should do in that scenario. Or anything that you think I should know.

I really wish it wasn't so difficult. I just want a peaceful life with my girlfriend.