X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Working on VoA while wait for KITAS

Hi people.
    I'm a newbie to Indonesia.
    I am currently working on a business Visa in SBY.
    I recently renewed my Passport to have appropriate validity for KITAS.
    I expected to transition directly from business Visa to KITAS.
    My company is telling me i need to exit Indonesia (this coming Saturday) and return on a VoA for sole purpose of getting entry stamp in my new Passport. This is apparently a requirement for KITAS?

I am extremely reluctant to work illegally, i know everyone does it, but I don't want to risk it. Currently all my colleagues are working illegally here while they await their KITAS renewals.

Does anyone know anything about Requiring this entry to Indonesia stamp in my Passport? Is it legit?

Originally posted by Aussie@Surabaya View Post
    (1) I am currently working on a business Visa in SBY.

(2) I expected to transition directly from business Visa to KITAS.

(3) My company is telling me i need to exit Indonesia (this coming Saturday) and return on a VoA for sole purpose of getting entry stamp in my new Passport. This is apparently a requirement for KITAS?... Does anyone know anything about Requiring this entry to Indonesia stamp in my Passport? Is it legit?

(1) Better not do that because Business Visa is not for work (there is only one visa for work which is the Limited Stay Visa index 312) . This situation is considered a criminal act (see related part of the Law below) .

(2) Although a process to do that does exist , usually Immigration asks the foreigner to go out of Indonesia and return with a Limited Stay Visa index 312 , to then convert it in a Work e-ITAS/KITAS as soon as the foreigner re-enter Indonesia .

(3) Returning on a Visa-on-arrival has nothing to do with a KITAS . It only makes sense if your present visa is expiring and your company didn't get the authorization for the Limited Stay Visa index 312 yet .