Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Oz Student Devastated After Being Barred From RI

From http://www.thejakartapost.com/news/2...a-holiday.html , 04 August 2018

[... Belinda Lopez, a PhD candidate at Macquarie University in Australia, wrote on her Twitter account that she had flown to Indonesia for a holiday but had been told by officials at Ngurah Rai airport in Bali that she was “blacklisted” by Indonesian immigration authorities...
    Belinda, who has worked as a subeditor for The Jakarta Post and The Jakarta Globe and made podcasts for the ABC, said she did not know why she was denied entry.
    “Immigration asked me if I was a journalist..."
    Belinda said she had visited Papua two years ago and that the immigration office refused to renew her visa over suspicion she was also doing journalism. She had been told at the time that she could return to Indonesia six months later...

Comments
    Rick
    .. I think there could be more to this than meets the eye. Does she secretly do ,or practice journalisim whilst in Indonesia??? Then she needs Working visa! There a lot of foriegners yhat enter Indonesia on VOA then seek out work hoping not to be caught. She possibly could be one of them, who knows???
    ........ ]

Originally posted by marcus View Post
    ... Belinda said she had visited Papua two years ago and that the immigration office refused to renew her visa over suspicion she was also doing journalism. She had been told at the time that she could return to Indonesia six months later...

I guess that when Immigration told her she could return 6 months later , meant that she was blacklisted for 6 months . But as many people said , the names in the blacklist will continue to be there until somebody request & succeed to withdraw the name(s) . I heard about a case where the request was denied .