Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Return flight to home country law?

Hi all,

I'm a teacher in Medan. I switched to a new (UK based) company last August on a year long contract. I have recently found out that my company will not give me a return flight to UK, because I was "hired locally". All my fellow expat teacher colleagues are receiving a return flight, because they were hired from UK. I feel this is grossly unfair, especially as they didn't have to fly me there in the first place.

My boss (who is in a similar situation) met someone in Jakarta who has lived there for 17 years. He said categorically that there is an Indonesian law which requires a company hiring a foreigner to pay for a return flight. I can't find any info on this elsewhere,

Does anyone know anything about this, or had similar issues etc? Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks,
    Chris

return ticket to home country

Try UU 13 manpower 2003, chapter VIII, article 48.it says that employers are under obligation to repatriate the foreign worker when employment comes to an end.Hope it helps you.I don't know if this is still valid or got changed recently as the date is 2003.Good luck!
    Originally posted by kangamoo22 View Post