Managing money with Indonesian girlfriend

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Managing money with Indonesian girlfriend

Hello all, this is my first time posting on this forum, and might I say I think this place seems to be of very resourceful community, I'm glad I came across it.
    I was hoping that some people with more experience in Indonesia than I could give me a bit of advice with my girlfriend of 1 year.
    I have come to Indonesia about four times since the beginning of last year, and I love it here, and though I have learned a lot, I'm still confused about what is expected of me as a serious boyfriend.
    When we first started dating, things were very casual and I was footing the bill as I would do back in the US with a new girlfriend, and everything seemed pretty normal to me.
    However though, as our relationship has progressed it seems like I am more or less considered a bank. The funny thing is, it isn't even her treating me that way, she more or less expects it. For example, as our relationship has progressed, her friends and family will visit us quite a bit, and every single time I foot the bill 100%. Every meal, every taxi, going out somewhere, etc. When her friends visit, it has gotten to the point where they will stay for close to a week and anything they need comes out of my wallet, including the taxi when they leave. When family visits, it's the same with that many more people.
    Is this normal here?
    I don't mind paying for meals, small groceries, or outings for visitors sometimes, and I love the girl and all, but it's starting to bother me because I never do this in the US. Instead of paying 100k for a simple meal for us I'm spending 2-3x that on a regular basis.
    Thanks in advance, any and all replies, your input is greatly appreciated.
    ​​​​​​​

I think you have to be clear at the start of the relationship ,financial guidelines have to be set ie who is responsible for what .