Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Choosing between universities in Java...

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Choosing between universities in Java...

Hey everybody,

I want to ask you for some advice and information.
    My name is Irthe, I’m 18 years old and I’m a second-year Law student at the University of Utrecht (The Netherlands)
    Last two year I’ve been travelling through Indonesia. Last summer I’ve been backpacking by myself for two months and I visited Jakarta (Java), Makassar (Sulawesi), Banjarmasin (South- Kalimantan), Bali and Lombok. In the summer of 2011, I wasn’t travelling alone but with my family. We went to Java and Bali and we also visited places like Yogyakarta and Malang.
    I’m already studying Bahasa Indonesia for one year now, so I can communicate in Indonesia quite well. I just have one big wish for already a long time: I want to study in Indonesia.

My university has exchange contacts with the following universities in Java:
    - Universitas Indonesia (in Depok, Jakarta)
    - Universitas Gadjah Mada (Yogyakarta)
    - Universitas Padjajaran (Bandung)
    - Universitas Airlangga (Surabaya)

So now I have to choose between these four universities. Do you know these universities and can you give me some information about the universities and tell me something about your experiences? I would also like to know what are the specific differences between these universities and which city is nice to live in as a student. I have never been in Bandung and Surabaya before….. I would like to know which of the four universities you suggest and why.
    I’m looking for different visions so I can make a good choice in the end.
    Thank you.

Irthe

Irthe - the link below is to an Australian exchange program website. There's information on accommodation choices near Gadjah Mada and there may be other useful stuff if you browse the rest of the site. Good luck.

http://www.acicis.murdoch.edu.au/hi/accomm.html