Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• This board seems 'different' :)

Hi All.

Just a quick impression from a newbie here - feel free to correct me on any of this. I admit that many on Thai-based expat boards are simply disgruntled old curmudgeons, but I'm afraid it's my only frame of reference. Please adjust all flamethrowers accordingly.

- generally, you seem to have less keyboard warriors here - thank God for that.

- many here seem more intent on job prospects than retirement - it may simply be that retirees feel less need to post regularly. It may also feed neatly into the 'less keyboard warriors' thing....

- local members on a board designed for expats - almost unheard of on the Thai-based boards. Combine the aforementioned keyboard warriors with topics that routinely criticise everything about Thailand (except the monarchy and Buddhism) and most Thais just don't want to know. I'm told that their 'feudal' culture and education system doesn't prepare them for critical thought, but that comes from many of the curmudgeons mentioned earlier. The cultural gulf between Thais and foreigners seems to get wider every year - hopefully, its not quite as broad a chasm here. I just dont have any plans to start dressing like Made Wijaya

http://strangerinparadise.com/

- religion (more specifically, the more extreme adherents of one religion) *seems* to be fair game here - ok, I'll go back and read the rules, but I haven't seen any mod intervention so far. Like politics, it something I tend to avoid anyway so it has never worried me elsewhere.

Inevitably, this thread will be greeted with howls of protest from those who have been here since Monas was built, but that's all part of my transition from naive newbie to disgruntled old curmudgeon, and lurkers may benefit from any roasting I receive. Feedback welcome.

Peace,

estreeter