Why Doesn't Anyone Use Their RL Pic?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Why Doesn't Anyone Use Their RL Pic?

I'm a newbie here on this forum, but a veteran as to the internet in general.

That said, most of my experience has been on social networks like MySpace and Facebook, where the goal of most profiles is to satisfy that basic human desire of "LOOK AT ME! LOOK AT ME!"

Then, both here and on the Thai equivalent of livingininsonesia that I simultaneously visit, I find that no one on these forums has any interest whatsoever in posting a picture of themselves. I've been lurking these last few weeks and learned a lot, but before I follow suit and retire my mug for a Seattle Seahawks, a Wayang Kulit figure or a picture of my favorite food, I just gotta ask...

Why are you all so afraid of putting your picture and/or names on a OL forum like this?

What do you look like?

What's the worst case scenario of being REAL on this forum?

Blackmail? Losing your job? Stalked by a golddigger?

Mind you, after this post, I'm going to conform to the forum norm of a non-descript avatar pic for myself. That's what EVERYONE does, therefore, it must be the way to do things, but before I do so, I just want to ask why?`

Originally posted by Joko MacKenna View Post

What's the worst case scenario of being REAL on this forum?

Blackmail? Losing your job? Stalked by a golddigger?
    or ........... Scarring the other members so much, no one talks to you.
    [COLOR=#333333][FONT=Verdana]Some love to milk Apostate.[/FONT][/COLOR]

Comment

Click on people's name and view the profile, many do put real photos in there.

Internet forums predate social media by far. In the old days anonymity and privacy were cherished, and as an old timer by internet standard ( I first went online in 1996) I still value them.

Comment