Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Would like to know more about living in Indonesia

Hi,
    I am a professional currently living and working in Dallas, TX. I plan to move to Indonesia in a couple of years.
    I would like to get some idea about life in and people of Indonesia.
    For those of you who live in Indonesia as foreigners, would you recommend living in Indonesia?

Thank you,
    JE

Originally posted by Jemarch27 View Post
    ... For those of you who live in Indonesia as foreigners, would you recommend living in Indonesia?... JE

I personally do like to live in Bandung/Indonesia , but I would not like to live in Jakarta/Indonesia , for example . I think that you need to see/feel it by yourself , as choosing to live in a country with so many different places/cultures depends on each person's feeling .

http://www.expat.or.id/info/sitemap.html (about Indonesia)

http://www.livinginindonesiaforum.or...1738#post21738 (tips to newcomers)

Comment

Well Iím not a foreigner but a local., i can give some informations about living in Indonesia. Firstly, itís so much cheaper to live here than in US for sure as our currency is so low compared with US dollars. In some small places you even can live with 100-200 USD per month!

Secondly, generally Indonesians are friendly people especially people in small cities. They smile a lot.

In contrast, language barrier is quite big here especially in small cities. Nevertheless, Some People in big cities can understand English but some of them are shy to reply you back. So itís always a safer choice to learn Indonesian survival words in case you get lost.

Hopefully it helps

Comment