Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Weekly Meditation Group

Hi everyone,

Arrived in Jakarta about a month ago and would love to start/join a meditation group in central Jakarta. Have been poking around the forum and Google, but haven't found any existing groups. I am happy to host at my house in Menteng if anyone is interested.

When: 7PM-8:15PM on Tuesday, August 12
    Where: Apartment complex in Menteng (south of Monas) - will send out details to those interested
    What: My background is in Zen meditation following the teachings of Thich Nhat Hanh, so I am comfortable with their general group meditation format (20 minute silent sitting, 20 minute guided meditation / reading / Dharma Talk, 20 minute walking meditation, 15 minute Dharma Discussion). Happy for others to bring in their own traditions/practices and have a pretty flexible sitting.
    Anything Else: Still waiting on my belongings to arrive, so I don't have extra meditation cushions. However, I do have some sofa pillows and my trusty bell.

Let me know if anyone is at all interested - look forward to meeting up!

Best
    Tim

Hi welcome, afaik meditating is when one person sits in silence and close his eyes etc, why need a group? Here, I think there are yoga classes, dunno any specific zen groups, soz
    Last edited by LittleMonster; 04-08-14, 11:16.
    Lost in Jakarta's trafic jam

Comment

Originally posted by LittleMonster View Post
      why need a group?
      Probably so that beginners can learn proper technique, and then all the group activities he mentions ([COLOR=#333333]20 minute guided meditation / reading / Dharma Talk, 20 minute walking meditation, 15 minute Dharma Discussion) can be conducted.[/COLOR]

Personally I'd be very interested, but thanks to Jakarta traffic and the fact I live in PI, there is no way I'm able to commit to something in Menteng. (And the stress of dealing with Jakarta traffic is one reason WHY I would benefit from a meditation group...)